The Algo Project

Talks and Concerts

Sunday, November 5th at 3:00 PM
Drexel University URBN Center Black Box Theater
3401 Filbert Street, Philadelphia

Program Information ALGO-NOV-5-PROGRAM [PDF]

This event is a soft launch for The Algo Project, a platform for dialog and creative production between the arts, science and technology. This program is supported by The University of Pennsylvania Music Department, ACF Philadelphia and The Algo.Institute.

The first half will feature Miya Masaoka (composer and director of the Sound Art program at Columbia University), Michael O’Bryan (musician, educator and activist) and Gene Coleman (composer and director), with each giving short talks about how science has influenced their work.

On the second half, Miya Masaoka will give a solo performance featuring mono chord + laptop. Then Ensemble N_JP will perform some recent work by Gene Coleman based on Auditory Neurological Architecture. This includes two music video works from his media opera “Dreamlives of Debris” featuring Sansuzu Tsuruzawa (voice and shamisen) and Toshimaru Nakamura (electronics) and a performance of the cello solo “The Geometry of Thinking”.

N_JP performers include Adam Vidiksis (conductor and electronics), Nick Millevoi (e-guitar), Dan Blacksberg (trombone), joined by bass-baritone Nicholas Isherwood, cellist Jason Calloway, soprano Rebecca Meyers and tenor Steven Bradshaw.

Lecture at The University of Pennsylvania

Monday, November 6th at 3:00 PM
Lerner Bldg. #210
201 South 34th Street Philadelphia PA, 19104

Penn Music Department presents composer Gene Coleman and bass-baritone Nicholas Isherwood in back-to-back talks about their work.

Nicholas Isherwood will focus on his work in general, highlighting his many great collaborations with composers including work with Karlheinz Stockhausen, Luciano Berio, George Crumb and Iannis Xenakis.

Gene Coleman’s talk will focus on his recent works modeled on Auditory Neurological Architecture (aka: The Auditory Pathway of the Brain), including his media opera “Dreamlives of Debris” and the cello solo “The Geometry of Thinking”.


Gene Coleman

Gene Coleman is a composer, musician and director. A 2014 Guggenheim Fellow and recipient of the 2013 American Academy in Berlin Music Prize, he has created over 70 works for various instrumentation and media. Innovative use of sound, image, space and time allow Coleman to create work that expands our understanding of the world. His work is focused on the global transformation of culture and music’s relationship with science and new media. He studied at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, where his teachers included experimental film artists Stan Brakhage and Ernie Gehr, and composer Robert Snyder.

He has received commissions from The Japan Society New York, PHACE Ensemble, Duo Yumeno, The Crossing, The Fromm Foundation, Network for New Music, Nicholas Isherwood, Trio Accanto, Klangforum Wien, Chamber Music America, E-Mex Ensemble, the NRW Culture Foundation, The Renaissance Society, The International House Philadelphia, Chicago Cultural Center, The Takefu Festival, HKW Berlin, Konzerthaus Wien, The Maerzmusik Festival and the Ernst Von Siemens Foundation.

His ongoing projects feature musicians from many parts of the globe. In 2001, with musicians from Japan and the USA he created the group “Ensemble N_JP” – Works such as “Sendai Transmissions” were composed for this group and explore music’s relationship with cinema, new media and architecture. In 2016 Coleman launched his newest venture with the Algo.Institute – a research and creation network comprising composers, scientists, technologists and artists from various disciplines.

Coleman has been a guest artist and lecturer at many universities, including Chiao-Tung University and Taipei National University of the Arts (2007) and Hong Kong University (2009). His paintings, films and musical scores have been widely exhibited, including shows at the Art Institute of Chicago (1984) and The MCA Chicago (2000). Recently, his music has been featured in the Venice Biennale (2015), the Warsaw Autumn Festival (2014) and Zurich New Music Days (2013). He was commissioned in 2016 by The Fromm Foundation to compose a work for the JACK Quartet.

In a long and extraordinary career, Nicholas Isherwood has worked closely with composers Sylvano Bussotti, Elliott Carter, Kaija Saariaho, George Crumb, Hans Werner Henze, Mauricio Kagel, György Kurtág, Steve Lacy, Olivier Messiaen, Giacinto Scelsi and Iannis Xenakis. Isherwood collaborated with Karlheinz Stockhausen for 23 years, singing numerous world premieres. He has sung in the world’s leading festivals (Salzburg, Festival d’Automne, Avignon, Biennale di Venezia, Holland Festival, Munich Biennale, Wien Modern, Tanglewood, Ravinia, etc.) and opera houses (Royal Opera House, Berlin, Frankfurt, Amsterdam, Théatre des Champs Elysées, Rome, La Scala, etc.), working with conductors William Christie, Peter Eötvös, Zubin Mehta, Kent Nagano, Helmuth Rilling, David Robertson, Gennadi Rozhdestvensky, Arturo Tamayo and others. He has improvised in concert with Steve Lacy, Joelle Léandre, David Moss, Sainkho Namtchilak and others, has made 55 recordings and appeared in three films for television. An active pedagogue, he has taught master classes at the Paris Conservatoire, Musikhochschule Köln, Salzburg Mozarteum and Conservatorio Giuseppe Verdi. He has held positions at SUNY Buffalo, Notre Dame, CalArts, The Ecole Normale de Musique and is currently professor of voice at the Conservatoire of Lyon. His book Techniques of Singing, was published by Bärenreiter Verlag in 2014.